Department of Physiology


Physiology is one of the oldest disciplines of the basic biomedical sciences focusing on the integrative function of living organisms from the level of molecules through to the whole organism.Department of Physiology was established in 1936 by Professor Cai Qiao, a famous physiologist, at Medical College of Central University. Since the 1980s, under the guidance of Professor Chen Jisheng, Professor Dong Weijia, Professor Zhou yuqian and Professor Yang Dezhi, Department of Physiology have made outstanding achievements in the fields of auditory, digestive and endocrine physiology.


An accomplished staff of 10 individuals supports the faculty in pursuing the mission of the Department. Among the faculty are 2 professors, 2 associate professors and 5 instructors. The Department’s teaching activities revolve around 5-years, 7-years graduate-level courses of medical students, each of which is offered either each semester or annually. In addition, the faculty participates in teaching core courses for students enrolled in other programs- Preventive medicine, Biomedical Engineering. Several of our faculty members have won teaching awards.


The primary research strength of the department is in the area of the neural physiology and pulmonary physiology, but there is also expertise in the areas of cardiovascular physiology. In pursuit of the Department’s research mission, the faculty currently holds several national, ministerial and provincial-level scientific research projects, such as National Key Basic Research Program (973 Program), National key R&D programs, NSFC National Natural Science Funds, Jiangsu Innovation & Entrepreneurship Talent Program, etc. Recent years, the faculty in our department has published more than one hundred papers on influential SCI journals.


The mission of the Physiology Department is to excel in research, teaching, service and mentoring. The department currently administers several laboratories equipped with resources designed to provide outstanding services for SEU researchers and the medical community of the state.