Department of Internal Medicine


The department of Internal Medicine is one of the major departments at the Southeast University School of Medicine. The Department was established early in 1935 and began to recruit graduate students from 1936 when affiliated to the NationalCentralUniversity. Eight divisions are included in the department: Cardiology, Nephrology, Hematology, Gastroenterology, Endocrinology, Rheumatology , Pulmonary and Geriatric Medicine among which five are ranked the key clinical specialties of JiangsuProvince. It has been a leader in the advancement of patient care, education, and research.  With more than 60 professors and 40 associate professors, distributed over 8 the divisions, we are the largest clinical department in training of the undergraduate and graduate students.

In the past 5 years, our department was awarded more than 60 research grants including the National Key Research Project, General and Key programs, International Collaborative Research program from National Natural Science Foundation, Clinic Research Center Program of Jiangsu Province, etc. With the funding of those projects, our faculty produced over 300 SCI publications.


Thus, as a leading department, we are committed to outstanding programs for education of students and residents. And we are devoted to advancing the science of medicine by in-depth research with missions to provide better health care to patients.